Access Keys:

Strandtown Primary School North Rd, Belfast

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has nine members. The members represent a number of interests. Historically, the Churches are represented by four transferor representatives. Education Authority has two representatives. There are two parent representatives and one teacher representative. Those appointed as Governors hold office for four years term which will officially terminate on 30 June 2018.


Currently, our governors meet on the first Thursday in every month.


Appointment of Governors

Education Authority has responsibility for appointment of members of the Board of Governors and the school conducts an appointment procedure to determine the parent representatives and teacher governors.



In carrying out its responsibilities, the Board of Governors has adopted a committee structure. To give focus to the wider work of the school, co-opted members have been appointed to the Education and Finance Committees.


The present school Governors are:

Mrs V Hutchinson (Acting Principal), Miss W Bailie (Acting Assistant Vice Principal), Mr H Black, Mrs S Carrigan, Mrs B Conaghan, Mrs J Cochrane, Mrs N Gilbert, Dr L Keown, Mr P Quigley, Mr R Quinlan


Board Of Governors 2016-17